Monday, 4 February 2013

Diageo's Classic Six Malts By Name Only

The Classic Six single malt whiskies are classic by name only. This is the name chosen by Diageo who own these six brands and is a marketing name to best group these six, otherwise stand alone, single malts together.

The six whiskies which I will not refer to as classic include: Dalwhinnie 15 year old, Cragganmore 12 year old, Caol Ila 12 year old, Talisker 10 year old, Singleton 12 year old, Lagavulan 16 year old (They taste Lagavulin Special Edition 1990 which is not normally in the classic range)

The word classic means something is perfect or has some timeless quality. It's a bit rich to make this claim, but none-the-less it is clever marketing. I however think it is deceiving as I can name almost every decent single malt as a classic single malt. These certainly do not fit the bill for many experts. These are however great examples of single malts from various regions in Scotland.

The video is just over 15 minutes long. The tasting is hosted by Charles MacLean who takes you through a very entertaining tasting experience. Together with various people, they go through each of the these six malts. It is well worth watching.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.